Resolved - Suggestion for a PC monitor

Jankovski 1st MRB

Question

Name: P. Jankovski

Type of issue: Hardware

Brief Description of Issue:  Alrighty guys. After having my 22" Monitor for almost 8 years now i decided to buy a new bigger monitor. I work as a System engineer and i work from home. So i spend 8 hours a day at least for work. I use my main PC for resolving support tickets while i use my laptop for anything linux(terminal related) . I also use my PC for gaming. My GPU is ASUS Strix GTX 970. 

I was planning to buy a 24" or a 27" monitor. My budget is 450 Euro. I'm clueless about monitors so i would need a suggestion what to look. Which panels (IPS, VA, TN) etc . Is it worth getting a 1920x1080p 27" or a 24" one. Or a 2560 x 1440 monitor (again 24" or 27" ) , i'm not sure if my GPU would handle it. By the way i don't watch to many movies on my PC as i have i have a TV for that. You can see bellow my setup

20171009_184800_HDR.jpg

***Medical Supply Staff ONLY Below this line***

Current Status: Resolved

Main Technician:

Supporting Technician: J. Candy

Edited by Candy 1st MRB

8 answers to this question

Great suggestions, thanks for input guys. I personally haven't bought a monitor in awhile either but from what I have seen I think the suggestions made by Elf and Gearhart are spot on. Think about size of the screen, resolution and response time. Also think about things like space on your desk, angle of motion the monitor has and any other extras(like built in USB hubs, etc.) Ant other technicians like to weigh in on this for him?

Thanks for the suggestion guys. I don't really need any addons on the monitor except the ones that connect it to the PC :D