2nd Amendment

J. King

Part of me sides with the gun owner and part of me sides with the cops. It's the gun owners legal right to have a concealed weapon. He does not have to tell the cops he had the gun if he has a permit and stuff, but the gun was visible. Then part of me sides with the cop because I know if I was an officer and I was making a stop. Seeing a gun out like that would make me a little uneasy. Like the officer said it's more of a courtesy. I also again see where the owner was coming from. He should not have to give up his weapon. He was doing what the officers were telling him. this situation got a little blown out of proportion.

As a CCWer myself, I can safely say the civvie is being a jackass. There is one reason that cop wants that gun: He cannot be safe with a firearm around. Permit or not, perfectly following the law or not, it's a dangerous weapon and that man could turn it on that cop in a second. Having been pulled over myself while carrying, I will tell you that I HAPPILY gave my gun up. Every time it's had to be taken by cops, they always give it right back at the end of everything, with the mag taken out just to make sure I don't blow their heads off. What's more? With me in control of my gun, there's a chance that cop might get jumpy and start popping off shots because I went for my registration and he thought I was going for the gun.

Guys, word of advice: Give up your gun and let it be. They're not militant, jackbooted thugs looking to strip you of your second amendment rights. These are people, with lives they would like to go home to, just like you or I. Don't give them shit because they want to go home at night. Meet them halfway. Moreover, if you don't tell a cop you have a gun, and he sees it? You're getting a pistol shoved in your face.